With pioneering explorations in time and space, Helio Parallax presents a sound deeply rooted in spiritual expression. It is true analog electronic music (no laptops) with cinematic landscapes (think Blade Runner meets Miles Davis’ Elevator To The Gallows sound track) anchored by deep, dub/hip-hop beats – an atmospheric landscape coined “Sci-Fi Dub Noir.”

Josh Werner (Wu Tang, Lee Scratch Perry, CocoRosie, Higgins Waterproof Black Magic Band) leads the charge with production and compositions born from futuristic collisionist thought. As Bass Player magazine (March 2014) said, “Josh Werner has re-emerged with a project that spotlights his masterful dub playing.”

Multi-instrumentalist and producer Takuya Nakamura (George Russell, Arto Lindsey, CocoRosie, Quincy Jones) blends a new brand of Jazz, lo-fi analog and Hi-fi Digital space techno to his efforts. His ethereal trumpet playing establishing a cinematic dreamscape of sound.

Dub specialist/beat maker Marihito Ayabe (Dub Nomads, Chimp Beams, and Shing02) married hip hop and reggae programming with Atmoshperic Sound Design.

Special guests include Bianca Casady (CocoRosie) LOUQUE, Jah Dan (Major Lazer).

1. Helio Parallax
2. Strange Dream (feat. Louque)
3. Another Broken Human
4. Kilgore Trout Dub
5. Soft Blind Pony Ride (feat. Bianca Casady)
6. Speed of Life (feat. Jahdan Blakkamoore)
7. Frank’s Lament (feat. Doug Wieselman)
8. Nocturne For Secret Planets
9. After the Flood
10. Happy Helio
11. City of Glass
12. New Planet, Old Sun


Available in stores and online June 17 and through M.O.D. Technologies. Vinyl available as of July 15.

Josh Werner – Bass, Double Bass, Guitar, Piano, Programming, Keys, Vocals
Takuya Nakamura – Trumpet, Keys, Organ, Programming, Horn Arrangements
Marihito Ayabe – Dubbing, Mixing, Programming

Bianca Casady (CocoRosie) – Vocals
Dustan Louque
Jahdan Blakkamore (Major Lazer)
Doug Wieselmaan – Saxophones
Troy Simms
Yoshio Kobayashi – Drums
Gintas Janusonis
Raja Kassis – Guitar
Namiko Ishikawa – Backing Vocals
Bill Laswell – Dubbing


The CD Release Party will be held at Union Pool in Brooklyn, New York on June 20, 2014. For further info and special guest line-up please visit http://union-pool.com

Time: 9PM
Admission: TBA


ABOUT THE LABEL – M.O.D. Technologies – revealing light on the development of new sound experiences in material culture. A multi-directional music / sound / information system. Initiated in 2010 by bassist / producer Bill Laswell and Giacomo Bruzzo, co-founder of the progressive / future music label Rare Noise. M.O.D. – A futuristic hybrid of music exploration – dub / dub step / reggae / world / africa / drum’n’bass / mutant hip hop / avant metal / experimental / vocal music / instrumental / DJ culture and much more. M.O.D. resumes and continues the legacy of AXIOM, the timeless imprint established in 1989 by Bill Laswell with Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records. www.mod-technologies.com