After releasing their debut album in 2011, the self-titled Obake and the follow-up Mutations in 2014 to widespread acclaim of the British and continental press, Obake are back with Draugr, which signals both a return to the origins of the band and a purification of its sound.This shift is immediately apparent in the choice of title: while the Japanese term ‘obake’ (お化け) signifies ‘that which changes’ or ‘shapeshifter’ or more generally ‘ghost of a departed’, now the chosen title for the band’s third release, Draugr is a term of indo-european origin which means ‘creature returning from the dead’.

The compactness and formal cohesion of band and release name reflect the newly found balance in the band, now featuring their live drummer Jacopo Pierazzuoli (of Morkobot and Kings Of Fire fame), Colin Edwin on electric bass (member of Metallic Taste Of Blood with Eraldo Bernocchi and of o.R.k. with Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari), Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari on guitars and voice, and Eraldo Bernocchi on guitars.

The multiplicity of collaborations between the members of Obake have enabled them to develop a compact and unique sound that is as extreme (in its doom and grindcore roots) as it is borderless (in depth explorations of ambient music accompanied by colorings of jazz, progressive rock and noise); Obake’s sound brings the listener back to the roots of rock, along the way drawing vital lymph from Popol Vuh, AshRa Tempel, via Slayer, Sunn O))), Melvins and Coil.

Draugr will be available in all formats, from October 28th 2016, and will also feature a remix by renowned British breakcore artist Leon Switch.

1. Cold Facts
2. Incineration Of Sorrows
3. Hellfaced
4. The Augur
5. Appeasing The Apparition
6. Serving The Alibi
7. Cloud Of Liars
8. Immutable
9. Draugr
10. Draugr (Leon Switch Remix)

Eraldo Bernocchi – guitars
Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari (“LEF”) – voice, guitars
Colin Edwin – electric bass
Jacopo Pierazzuoli – drums


ABOUT THE LABEL – RareNoiseRecords was founded in 2008 by two Italians, entrepreneur Giacomo Bruzzo and music producer Eraldo Bernocchi. Located in London, the label’s mission is to detect and amplify contemporary trends in progressive music, by highlighting their relation to the history of the art-form, while choosing not to be bound by pre-conceptions of genre. It seeks to become a guiding light for all those enamored by exciting, adventurous and progressive sounds. For further information and to listen please go to www.rarenoiserecords.com.